The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

18798983The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all…. (continued here)


Untitled design (5)

Where in the world do I even start with this amazing book?

First off, I’m starting to hate this five star rating system, because this books deserves way more than five stars. It deserves like five billion stars for how freaking amazing it was. I finished this book two days ago and I’m still just in complete awe.

tumblr_nrhiymfp0f1tkx26qo1_500

Let’s start with why I read it… I had kind of heard of this book awhile ago and didn’t really think much of it, but then for some reason I heard the title thrown around a couple times in the past week and was just like, you know, I need something good to read. After reading A Court of Mist and Fury  and being in a reading slump, I needed a nice retelling.

http-mashable.comwp-contentgallerybook-loversreading-icarly

The author’s writing style was just fabulous. I can’t even begin to explain how much I loved it. The way she described smells, sights, and colors (like seriously, I didn’t even know that many colors existed!) it was so freaking amazing! It was like being there and as soon as I was done with the book, I just wanted to escape to this magical land that my mind and her words created for me!

Now there is a very, very special person that me must mention:

Khalid.

814338

My dearest, loveliest Khalid, I was having a hard times finding gifs to express my feelings for you, until I found the perfect one:

giphy (1)

You guys this Khalid is almost taking Rhysand’s place.  Yes, that’s how much I loved little adorable Khalid.

It wasn’t even just Khalid, that I loved character wise, I loved every single one of my babies: Jahal, Despina, Shazi, KHALID!!! Okay, I need to stop obsessing over Khalid. *takes deep breath*

tenor (2)

I loved that this book was a perfect mix between historical fiction, romance, retelling, and fantasy. Yes, fantasy! Fantasy is like my jam, especially high fantasy, and I didn’t expect to see any of it in this book. I’m very excited to see where the element of it goes in the second book, since it was totally set up in this book. I can tell it’s going to play a much bigger roll in the next one!

And we cannot do a review without addressing the ending: 

tenor (1)

NO NO NO NO THE ENDING THOUGH ALL OF THE FEELS!

cool-sobbing-gif-999

You guys, the part where Khalid had the letters and the (spoiler and spoiler) and everything was burning and heck. I can only express myself through gifs and tears at this point, words are not working for me.

Would Recommend To:

  • Someone who loves retellings, especially with fantasy elements
  • Someone who loves some well-written tense romance
  • Someone who loves doesn’t like drawn out relationships, but loves some good angst
  • Someone who would just love to cry and never be mentally okay again.

Also, as an after thought: was I the only one who got a like a huge Beauty and the Beast vibe from this book? Especially the ending, I swear “Evermore” was playing in my head! It was like someone mashed up Aladdin and Beauty and the Beast…

Happy reading, and I’ll try to stop crying now,

Lydia

One thought on “The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

Leave a Reply

