The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro – Review

y648

Watson and Holmes: A match made in disaster.

Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are looking for a winter-break reprieve after a fall semester that almost got them killed. But Charlotte isn’t the only Holmes with secrets, and the mood at her family’s Sussex estate is palpably tense. On top of everything else, Holmes and Watson could be becoming more than friends—but still, the darkness in Charlotte’s past is a wall between them.

A distraction arises soon enough, because Charlotte’s beloved uncle Leander goes missing from the estate—after being oddly private about his latest assignment in a German art forgery ring. The game is afoot once again, and Charlotte is single-minded in her pursuit.

Their first stop? Berlin. Their first contact? August Moriarty (formerly Charlotte’s obsession, currently believed by most to be dead), whose powerful family has been ripping off famous paintings for the last hundred years. But as they follow the gritty underground scene in Berlin to glittering art houses in Prague, Holmes and Watson begin to realize that this is a much more complicated case than a disappearance. Much more dangerous, too.

What they learn might change everything they know about their families, themselves, and each other.


Untitled design (4)

The thing that made me pick this book up is the fact that I am a huge Sherlock Holmes fan. Whether it is just the good old books, or the amazing BBC show with Benedict Cumberbatch, I am a fangirl all the way.

Naturally, I just had to read it.

I actually bought and read the first one, A Study in Charlotte, right after it came out and sadly wasn’t very impressed. I liked it, it just wasn’t gripping like I had thought it to be. It was one of those books that was almost self-hyped because I just got way to excited about how good it was going to be that it let me down a little bit.

I wasn’t planing on reading the second one when it came out, just because I didn’t want to waste my money and buy it, but I ended up seeing it at the library and thought it wouldn’t hurt anything to read it.

I ended up liking this one just a bit more, despite how much I didn’t like the other one.

It was certainly much better with the edition of characters such as Milo and August, because whereas the last book’s focus was really only on Jamie and Charlotte (the characters that take place of John Watson and Sherlock Holmes) this one had a couple more sub plots and depth to it.

One of the only problems I had with it, was I didn’t understand a lot of parts. Like I would be reading and suddenly I’d be like,

giphy.gif

As I was later thinking about it, I realized that it was because the book wasn’t completely holding my attention. It wasn’t keeping me hanging off my seat the entire time, so I was missing slightly important parts. Honestly, a good book should never do this. If I am missing key details because my eyes are the ones reading, not my brain, I think something needs to happen.

On the upside, I did love the romance between the characters Jamie and Charlotte (don’t worry that’s not a spoiler). The author was able to balance the tense moments really well and constantly kept you wondering what was going to happen in their relationship situation next. It wasn’t rushed or drawn out in any way, and it wasn’t the main focus the entire time.

Another thing I loved: they kept that really aggressive, angry, Watson in Jamie’s character extremely well!

tumblr_nsqwy5fuqd1ur1jnbo1_250.gif
PUNCH HIM!

Would Recommend To:

  • Some who loves the original Sherlock Holmes/TV show(s)
  • Someone who ships or has shipped John/Watson
  • Someone who loves a little romance but not as the main focus
  • Someone who likes mysteries

What were your thoughts on A Study in Charlotte/The Last of August?

Happy reading,

Lydia

One thought on “The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro – Review

Leave a Reply

